Is It Bad Manners To Talk About Money?

A  few days ago I was watching the first episode of Nashville and the country star’s husband told one of their daughters that it was bad manners to talk about money. This caught my attention because I’m always talking about money and finance related topics with my friends and family. So if it’s really bad manners to talk about money then I’m one rude person.

Money is still a very taboo topic, much like sex was a few years ago, but we all know how that goes these days.

Now hear me out, I’m not saying that you should just talk to random people about your financial state, but find someone you are comfortable with and talk to them.

  • Talking makes you more accountable for decisions you make
  • You can get feedback or insight
  • It reduces the fear of the debt or whatever financial state you are in

If you don’t discuss it or acknowledge it, it doesn’t exist. Right?

I understand why some people don’t talk about their finances. You may have been raised to never talk about money, or you may be ashamed about how much debt you have or even that your savings balance is too low. Then they are people whose bank account is healthy and don’t want people to know because they may ask for handouts or think you’re bragging.

Do you think talking about money is bad manners?

4 thoughts on “Is It Bad Manners To Talk About Money?

  1. Me and my friends talk about money all the time. However, I don’t bring it up unless they do first, only because I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging or something.

  2. I don’t think it’s bad manners, but that’s just me. Asking people how much they make, maybe, but not chatting about it.

Leave a Reply

